homesitemap
to remember me

Kerey Khan (approximately reigned in 1459-1473)  Janibek Khan (approximately in 1473-1480)

    One of the first outstanding personalities, who have played a huge role in the history of the Kazakh society, became sultans-  chingizids and then khans - Kerey and Janibek. They were the leaders, who had a direct impact on the formation of the Kazakh Khanate.

      It was from founding of the state mechanism starts the actual history of Kazakhstan, when in the middle of the XV century in the vast steppes of Central Asia to the historic arena appeared the state, which called itself the Kazakh.

   In the first half of the XV century Abulhair Khanate, or, as they called him, Uzbek ulus, which possessions included lands of  Dasht-i-Qipchaq, modern Central Kazakhstan and some parts of western Kazakhstan, was one of the most powerful states in Central Asia.

   Abulhair khan was ambitious  of power person and quite cruelly managed with close sultans that caused their discontent and resistance. However, until middle of the fiftieth years of the XV century they could not render serious resistance to Abulkhair and were in certain dependence. Feeling constant danger from the governor  of the Uzbek ulus, young sultans sought to keep from him. Short-sighted policy of Abulkhair,  continuous wars, economic instability, civil strife and despotism were  kept his  citizens in constant awe and tension, delivered the mass of burdens and deprivations, had pernicious effect on economic life of edge.

Kerey and  Janibek  skillfully used this situation in Abulkhair’s khanate. They managed to create an original center of the current opposition in Western Kazakhstan. Rebellious sultans very carefully, but tenaciously held in their hands a number of trade and major cities (Sygnak, Suzak, Sauran), which rich by water and pasture marginal land. They with subjected tribes roamed the steppes of Central and Western Kazakhstan. Gradually a part of former Abulhair’s supporters, who dissatisfied policy of arbitrariness in the steppe, migrated to them.

    Abulkhair did not intend to suffer long separatism and Kerey and Zhanibek's willfulness and moved the armies in the areas controlled by them. Sultans at that moment evaded from direct fight and went to the south, to Zhetisu. The medieval author Mahmoud of ibn-Vali  wrote  about events of that time: "When Abulkhair won over sons his enemies in the Desht-i Qipchaq areas, some of descendants of Dzhuchi khan , like , Kerey-khan and Zhanibek-khan … left a submission and obedience circle and preferred to leave the homeland. They refused from inherited (from ancestors) the countries, they stepped into the foreign land. With group of people, who “worthy recognitions”,  they chose a way to Mogulistan". It is possible to assume that among persons "worthy recognitions", most likely, were Katan bey, Asan-Kaygy, Shalkiiz zhirau, Zhirenshe-sheshen (orator)  and others. According to the Kazakh legends, murder of Akzhol bey, a representative of an influential kin -Argin , and the unfair solution of a lawsuit Abulkhair were a direct reason for sultans carting away.

     So, the rebelled sultans sent the horses to the south, to Mogulistan. The broken-away part of supporters Zhanibek and Kerey began to call himself Kazakhs. By way of life, language and culture,  inhabitants of Mogulistan had little differences from inhabitants of the Uzbek ulus. Mirza Muhammad Haidar in the work "Tarikh-i Rashidi" reported that the possessor of Mogulistan Esen-Buga "… Willingly accepted them and provided them Chu's districts and Kozy-Basha" (now it is the district between Lake Balkhash and Kurday pass). The union with Zhanibek and Kerey was extremely necessary for Esen-Buga. Leaning on them, he managed to solve a number of the foreign policy tasks of protection a borders of Mogulistan.

  Kerey and Zhanibek's departure  from Abulkhair became only the first step to formation of Kazakh autonomy. At that time Zhanibek was about forty years old. Kerey was little years older. Thus, it was a considered and verified step from their party . Besides, this step was taken thanks to mass moods, to break off all relations with Abulkhair. There was fact that the number of their supporters constantly grew.

   Exact date of a carting of Zhanibek and Kerey is still unknown. According to one data, it happened in 1456, on another – 1459-1460. Authentically one fact that this short period of the end of the fiftieth — the beginning of the sixtieth years was decisive in formation of the Kazakh state.

      By 1465-1466 the power of sultans in the state formed by them finally became stronger. There were also attributes, characteristic for the nomadic states,bey’s courts, tax system, territorial borders.

     Abulkhair too late understood to what consequences could  lead stubborn willfulness of rebellious khans. In the fall of 1468 he set the army against Zhaibek and Kerey, to crush the young khanate, but during this campaign died, without having achieved his aim.

    The Uzbek ulus after Abulkhair's death in 1468 came to final frustration, a disorders began in ulus. Part of citizens migrated to Zhanibek and Kerey, they brought about two hundred thousand people. The name “Kazakh Uzbek” was approved by them . Thus, rebellious sultans became initiators of creation of new state education – the Kazakh khanate.

   After Abulkhair’s death,  Zhanibek and Kerey put a lot of effort to attach his lands. From the very beginning of a khanate formation they moved persistent fight for the cities near Syr Darya. which were excellent fortresses and the trade and economic centers. They tried to be approved finally in the lands surrounding the cities of Sygnak, Suzak, etc. So wars in the Kazakh lands did not cease. The whistling of feathered arrows was so frequent, as well as wind whistle. Blood flew, anxiously neighing a fighting horses, the struck soldiers fell, their wives and mother sobbed. Whether but it occupied minds of governors! Long three decades the first Kazakh khans waged war for the possession and their expansion, which supported everywhere by the nobility and common people.

    Kerey Khan ( year of birth is unknown - died in the early 70s . XV c.) . Information about one of the first khans of Kazakh Khanate is very scarce . In historical sources of 50-s  of XV. The name Kerey khan is not mentioned. A few posts about him in numbers of east manuscripts, where he  serves as Senior Khan of Kazakhs. According to sources Kerey Khan was the son of Orys Khan’s  grandson - Bolat .

    There are no information in sources about his father sultan Anika Bulat. But the name of his grandfather – Toktakiy,  is mentioned in many works of eastern authors . He was the eldest son of Orys Khan and after his death in 1377 succeeded his father. Toktakyi was gentle and courteous man. But this peaceful virtues of Kerey’s grandfather was not destined to appear in full: he reigned only three months and was killed in the war with the Emir Timur and his protege - Mangyshlak Toktamysh oglanom (later the Khan of the Golden Horde).

   Kerey was the only son of sultan Bolat. His activity is connected with the events occurring to the middle of the 70th years of the XV century, where he played an active role. As a result of these events the power in the Uzbek ulus passed from Abulkhair khan to  Kerey and Zhanibek's dynasty. The eldest Kerey was raised on a white rug and declared Khan.

   The last mention of the name Kerey khan  in the historical annals of 1472-1473 is connected with attack of sultan Burysh-oglan on Mogul Horde of Zhunus khan. To the 80th years the management passes to Buryndyk khan, one of numerous sons of Kerey,  who has continued affairs of the father.

   In the historical materials, which  narrating about transferring khan’s power by Kereyto the  hands of his  son Buryndyk, does not contain exact data on the state activity of Kerey khan in the period of its reign in the Uzbek ulus, his  destiny, time and circumstances of death. Most likely, Kerey khan died after events of 1472-1473.

   Zhanibek khan (year of birth and death are unknown) – one of founders of the Kazakh khanate and a dynasty of the Kazakh khans. Zhanibek was a son of Barack khan and the grandson of Kuyruchuk khan- the fourth son of Orys khan. There are a bit information about Zhanibek’s grandfather -  Kuyruchuk.  There is such story in "Zafar-name" Sharaf of ad-Din Ali Jasdi (XV century). In April, 1395 on Terek there was a decisive battle between the emir Timur and Toktamysh, the khan of the Golden Horde. Toktamysh suffered defeat and ran. Timur moved to a pursuit the opponent. Having arrived to a crossing place through Volga (Itil), called by the Turatur crossing, "he gave to the son of Urys khan, Kuyruchuk-oglan, who was with him,  group of  brave Uzbeks, who servants in the highest yard, prepared accessories of padish advantage, awarded him with embroidered gold robe and a gold belt, ordered to him transported through Itil(V olga) and transferred him the Ulus Dzhuchi. The tsarevitch from a Dzhuchi kin, according to an order, came over to riverside and was engaged in bringing of scattered army and the system  of the ulus". About that when and as Kuyruchuk-oglan appeared in Timur's horde and about circumstances of his board Ulus Dzhuchi of data is not present. It is known only that his reign  was short: soon after Timur's leaving from the territory of the Gold  Horde  his protege was killed.

      The Zhanibek’s father Barack khan was known as the person of desperate bravery and very vigorous governor. He possessed all qualities of the person of action: courage, determination, persistence. At the very beginning of the 20th of the XV century he won a victory over the political opponents in Syr Darya possession of  Dzhuchids. From there he acted in the Volga region on war with applicants for a Golden Horde’s throne. Having victoriously crushed army of the Hudayda , khan, he  captured Sarai, the capital of the Golden Horde. Then he got back to shores of Syr-Darya and was at war with Timur's grandson, Ulugbek, the governor of Transoxiana.

    Barack khan had three sons and one daughter Saadat-begim; names of his sons: Mir-Sayid, Mir-Kasim, Abu-Said, also called him Zhanibek". It is known that Barack khan died in1428; therefore, it is possible to assume that Zhanibek was born no later than in 1429. Mentions of Zhanibek-khan  meet in many east books that testifies to his popularity. There he acts as the leader of Kazakhs, the brave soldier, one of founders of the Kazakh khanate. His name is almost always mentioned near the name Kerey khan. However it is unlikely that Zhanibek was the independent governor. Sources say that he  "was called Kichi Zhanibek khan ", that  means the junior khan. And he "… in all affairs obeyed and submitted to Buryndyk khan " who continued business of his father Kerey khan. It must assume that Zhanibek khan was very educated person of this time,  knowing history of the state of Genghis Khan – the Golden Horde. Zhanibek gave to the people, inhabiting his  state, the name Kazakh, and called the state as Kazakh khanate. He had to be engaged in mainly internal affairs: creation of the center of the Kazakh khanate with the capital in Saray-Jük and distribution of lands between the Kazakh kins; army creation, adjustment of trade with neighboring countries and stamping of coins. The protection of borders of the khanate he instructed to his sons.

   Zhanibek khan had nine sons. His third son Kasym became a khan and managed to approve the sovereignty over huge open spaces of the Kazakh lands. During his reign Kazakh khanate became one of the strongest states in Central Asia.

   This is information about Kerey and Zhanibek khans, founders of the first Kazakh state. The place of their burial is unknown. But there is a memory; there is a posterity; there is  a khanate, which  was destined to have a long life.

homesitemap
запомнить меня

Керей Хан (годы правления: предположительно 1459–1473 гг.) и Жанибек Хан (предположительно 1473–1480 гг.)

Одними из первых ярких личностей, сыгравших колоссальную роль в истории казахского общества, ста­ли султаны-чингизиды, а затем и ханы – Керей и Жанибек. Они были теми деятелями, которые оказали непосредственное воздействие на процесс образования Казахского ханства.

Именно с образования этого государственного механизма и начинается собственно история Казахста­на, когда в середине XV века в обширных степях Центральной Азии на историческую арену выходит го­сударство, которое назвало себя Казахским.

В первой половине XV века ханство Абулхаира, или, как тогда его называли, Узбекский улус, во вла­дения которого входили степи Дешт–и Кипчака, современный Центральный Казахстан и некоторая часть Западного Казахстана, было одним из самых могущественных государств Центральной Азии.

Хан Абулхаир был человеком властолюбивым и довольно жестоко обходился с приближенными султа­нами, что вызывало их недовольство и сопротивление. Однако до середины пятидесятых годов XV ве­ка они не могли оказать Абулхаиру серьезного сопротивления и находились в определенной зависимос­ти. Чувствуя постоянную опасность от властителя Узбекского улуса, молодые султаны стремились дер­жаться от него на расстоянии. Недальновидная политика Абулхаира — беспрерывные войны, хозяй­ственная нестабильность, междоусобица и деспотизм – держали его подвластных в постоянном страхе и напряжении, доставляли массу тягот и лишений, пагубно отражались на экономической жизни края.

Таким положением внутри ханства Абулхаира умело воспользовались султаны Керей и Жанибек. Они су­мели создать в Западном Казахстане своеобразный центр действующей оппозиции. Мятежные султаны очень осторожно, но цепко держали в своих руках ряд торговых и крупных городов (Сыгнак, Сузак, Сауран), богатые водой и пастбищами окраинные земли. С подвластными пле­менами они кочевали в степях Центрального и Западного Казахстана. Постепенно к ним перекочевала часть бывших сторонников Абулха­ира, недовольная политикой произвола в степи.

Абулхаир не намерен был долго терпеть сепаратизм и своеволие Керея и Жанибека и передвинул свои войска в области, контролируемые ими. Султаны в тот момент уклонились от прямой схватки и ушли на юг, в Жетису. Средневековый автор Махмуд ибн-Вали пишет о событиях того времени: «Когда Абулхаир одержал верх над сыновьями своих врагов в областях Дешт-и Кипчака, некоторые из потомков Джучи-хана, например, Керей-хан и Жанибек-хан… вышли из круга подчинения и повиновения и предпочли покинуть родину. Отказавшись от унаследован­ной (от предков) страны, они ступили на дорогу, ведущую на чужбину. С группой людей, достойных признания, они выбрали путь в Могулис­тан». Можно предположить, что в числе лиц «достойных признания», скорее всего, были Катан би, Асан-Кайгы, Шалкииз жырау, Жиренше-ше­шен и другие. По казахским преданиям, непосредственным поводом для откочевки султанов было убийство представителя влиятельного ро­да аргынов Акжол бия, и несправедливое решение тяжбы Абулхаиром.

Так, взбунтовавшиеся султаны направили своих коней на юг, в Могулистан. Отколовшаяся часть сторонников Жанибека и Керея стала на­зывать себя казахами. По образу жизни, языку и культуре жители Могулистана мало чем отличались от жителей Узбекского улуса. Мирза Му­хаммад Хайдар в своем труде «Тарих-и Рашиди» сообщает, что владетель Могулистана Есен-Буга «…Охотно принял их и предоставил им ок­руга Чу и Козы-Баша» (в настоящее время это местность между озером Балхаш и Курдайским перевалом). Для Есен-Буги союз с Жанибеком и Кереем был крайне необходим. Опираясь на них, он сумел решить ряд своих внешнеполитических задач по защите границ Могулистана.

Уход Керея и Жанибека от Абулхаира стал лишь первым шагом к образованию казахской автономии. В момент откочевки Жанибеку было око­ло сорока лет. Керей же был на несколько лет старше. Таким образом, с их стороны это был обдуманный и выверенный шаг. К тому же, этот шаг был предпринят благодаря массовым настроениям, разорвать все отношения с Абулхаиром. Об этом говорит тот факт, что число их сто­ронников постоянно росло.

До сих пор неизвестна точная дата откочевки Жанибека и Керея. По одним сведениям, это произошло в 1456 году, по другим – 1459–1460 го­дах. Достоверно одно, что этот краткий период конца пятидесятых — начала шестидесятых годов оказался решающим в становлении Казахс­кого государства.

К 1465–1466 годам власть султанов в образованном ими государстве окончательно укрепилась. Появились и свои атрибуты, характерные для кочевых государств, суды биев, налоговая система, территориальные границы.

Абулхаир слишком поздно понял, к каким последствиям может привести упрямое своеволие мятежных ханов. Осенью 1468 года он двинул свою армию против Жаибека Керея, чтобы разгромить молодое ханство, но в походе умер, так и не достигнув своей цели.

Узбекский улус после смерти Абулхаира в 1468 году пришел в окончательное расстройство, в нем начались большие неурядицы. Часть отко­чевала к Жанибеку и Керею, около них собралось около двухсот тысяч человек. За ними утвердилось название узбек-казахи. Таким образом, именно мятежные султаны стали инициаторами создания нового государственного образования – Казахского ханства.

После смерти Абулхаира Жанибек и Керей приложили немало усилий, чтобы присоединить к себе его земли. С самого начала основания ханс­тва они повели упорную борьбу за присырдарьинские города, которые были отличными крепостями и торгово-экономическими центрами. Они старались окончательно утвердиться в землях, окружавших города Сыгнак, Сузак и др. Так что войны в казахских землях не утихали. Пос­вист оперенных стрел здесь был столь же част, как и свист ветра. Лилась кровь, тревожно ржали боевые кони, падали сраженные воины, ры­дали их жены и матери. Но это ли занимало умы властителей! Долгих три десятилетия вели первые казахские ханы борьбу за свои владения и их расширение, поддерживаемые повсеместно знатью и простонародьем.

Керей-хан (год рождения неизвестен – умер в начале 70-х гг. XV в.). Сведения об одном из первых ханов Казахского ханства весьма скудны. В исторических источниках до 50-х годов XV в. имя Керей-хана не упоминается. Немногочисленные сообщения о нем имеются в ряде вос­точных рукописей, на страницах которых Керей выступает в качестве старшего хана казахов. Согласно источникам Керей-хан был сыном вну­ка Орыс-хана – Болата.

Об отце Керея, Анике-Болат-султане в источниках сведения отсутствуют. Зато имя его деда – Токтакыйа – упоминается у многих восточных авторов. Он был старшим сыном Орыс-хана и после его смерти в 1377 году наследовал отцу. Токтакыйа был мягким и учтивым человеком. Но этим миролюбивым добродетелям деда Керея не было суждено проявиться в полной мере: он ханствовал всего лишь три месяца и погиб в войне с эмиром Тимуром и его протеже – мангышлакским царевичем Токтамыш-огланом (впоследствии ханом Золотой Орды).

Керей был единственным сыном Болат-султана. Его деятельность связана с событиями, происходившими до середины 70-х годов XV в., в ко­торых он играл активную роль. В результате этих событий власть в Узбекском улусе перешла от династии Абулхаир-хана в руки Керея и Жа­нибека. Старший по возрасту Керей был поднят на белой кошме и объявлен ханом.

Последнее упоминание имени Керей-хана в исторических анналах 1472–1473 гг. связано с набегом султана Бурыш-оглана на орду могулского хана Жунуса. К 80-м годам руководство переходит в руки Бурындык-хана, одного из многочисленных сыновей Керея, продолжившего дело от­ца.

В исторических материалах, повествующих о передаче Кереем ханской власти в руки своего сына Бурындыка, не содержится точных све­дений о государственной деятельности Керей-хана в период его правления в Узбекском улусе, его судьбе, времени и обстоятельствах смер­ти. По всей видимости, Керей-хан погиб после событий 1472–1473 гг.

Жанибек-хан (годы рождения и смерти неизвестны) – один из основателей Казахского ханства и династии казахских ханов. Жанибек был сыном Барак-хана и внуком Куйручук-хана, четвертого сына Орыс-хана. О дедушке Жанибека Куйручук-оглане мало что известно. В «Зафар-на­ме» Шараф ад-Дина Али Йазди (XV в.) содержится такой рассказ. В апреле 1395 г. на Тереке произошло решающее сражение между эмиром Тимуром и Токтамышем, ханом Золотой Орды. Токтамыш потерпел поражение и бежал. Тимур двинулся в погоню за своим противником. При­быв к месту переправы через Волгу (Итиль), называемому Туратурской переправой, «он дал находившемуся при нем сыну Урыс-хана, Куйру­чук-оглану, отряд узбекских храбрецов, находившихся числе слуг высочайшего двора, приготовил принадлежности падишахского достоинс­тва, удостоил его шитого золотом халата и золотого пояса, велел ему переправится через Итиль и передал ему ханство над Улусом Джучи. Царевич из рода Джучи, согласно приказанию, перешел на ту сторону реки и занялся собиранием рассеянной армии и устройством улуса». О том когда и как Куйручук-оглан оказался в орде Тимура и об обстоятельствах его правления Улусом Джучи сведений нет. Известно только, что ханствование его было непродолжительным: вскоре после ухода Тимура с территории золотоордынского государства его ставленник был убит.

Отец Жанибека Барак-хан был известен как человек отчаянной храбрости и весьма энергичный правитель. Он обладал всеми качествами че­ловека действия: смелостью, решительностью, настойчивостью. В самом начале 20-х гг. XV в. он одержал победу над своими политическими противниками в Присырдарьинских владениях Джучидов. Оттуда выступил в Поволжье на войну с претендентами на золотоордынский прес­тол. Победоносно разгромив войско хана Худайдада, он овладел Сараем, столицей Золотой Орды. Потом он вернулся на берега Сырдарьи и воевал с внуком Тимура, Улугбеком, правителем Мавераннахра.

У хана Барака было три сына и одна дочь по имени Саадат-бегим; имена его сыновей: Мир-Сайид, Мир-Касим, Абу-Саид, «которого называют также и Жанибек». Известно, что Барак-хан погиб в 1428 г; следовательно, можно предположить, что Жанибек родился не позднее 1429 г. Упоминания о Жанибек-хане встречаются во многих восточных книгах, что свидетельствует о его известности. В них он выступает вождем казахов, отважным воином, одним из основателей Казахского ханства. Его имя почти всегда упоминается рядом с именем Керей-хана. Одна­ко вряд ли, Жанибек был самостоятельным правителем. Источники говорят, что его «называли Кичи Жанибек-хан», а это означало младший хан. И он «…во всех делах слушался и подчинялся Бурындык-хану», который продолжал дело своего отца Керей-хана. Хотя надо полагать, что Жанибек-хан был весьма образованным человеком своего времени, знавшим историю государства Чингисхана – Золотой Орды. Именно Жа­нибек дал народу, населявшему его государство, название казах, а само государство назвал Казахским ханством. Ему пришлось заниматься главным образом внутренними делами: созданием центра Казахского ханства со столицей в Сарайшыке и распределением земель между ка­захскими родами; созданием армии, налаживанием торговли с соседними странами и чеканкой монет. Защиту границ ханства он поручил сво­им сыновьям.

У Жанибек-хана было девять сыновей. Третий его сын Касым стал ханом и сумел утвердить свое владычество над огромными просторами казахских степей. При нем Казахское ханство стало одним из сильнейших государств в Центральной Азии.

Таковы сведения о ханах Керее и Жанибеке, основателях первого казахского государства. Место их погребения неизвестно. Но осталась па­мять; осталось потомство; осталось основанное ими ханство, которому суждена была долгая жизнь. /Ref: www.tarih.spring.kz/ru/history/medieval/figures/jasibay//